Tis the Season!

17 Nov

I waited patiently after Halloween to see when I could start my Christmas decorating without looking too eager and everything looking silly.  Hubby gets a nice little laugh out of my enthusiasm for the holidays now as I really didn’t even think twice about it when we first started to live together. It wasn’t until we had our first child and Christmas became all about him did I start to get excited for the holidays.  We like to do our holidays quiet, at home with the three of us, and visiting our families at different times.

So last weekend while Adam was out for his massage I dug out all 4 of the large rubbermaid bins with the holiday decorations and started our plan of what we would put up first.  We now have wreaths hanging in the windows, yummy cinnamon smelling pinecones in baskets, sugar cookie scented candles burning and I think the lights will go up next!

On my to do list over the next week is getting ready for our 25 days of Christmas that was introduced to us by the wonderful Andrea over at a Peek Inside the Fishbowl.   Last year we enjoyed all of our family related activities.  I am even more excited this year as D is a lot older and really understands what we are doing and why we are doing it.  Let the planning for fun and activities begin!

I have gotten a good start on my Christmas shopping and really hope to have it all finished by December 1st.  I just need to stay on track a few more weeks!

So what are your holiday traditions? Do you leave your shopping to the last minute or are you already finished? I would love to hear what family fun your family partakes in over the holiday season!

3 Responses to “Tis the Season!”

  1. Misty November 17, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    We always make homemade chocolates (ok, well we buy the wafers and make them into molds…but still!) Another tradition is going to cut down our own Christmas tree. We’re not much into decorating a lot around the house, but I’m going to make an effort this year to do something :) And hoping to start a tradition of “giving back”…picking a favourite charity and helping out as a family!

  2. Alicia November 17, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Yeah! I was tempted to decorate the house while Hubby is away this week for a nice surprise when he gets back, but the bins are stored up too high. I’m also looking forward to our 25 days of Xmas again!!

    • Lynn November 18, 2011 at 1:29 am #

      We also do Andrea’s 25 days of Christmas. It’s become a really nice tradition. I find it makes for a busy November as I rush to get all my shopping and organizing done, but then we can relax in December, avoid the stores, and just hang out. It’s a worthwhile tradition!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

