Breastfeeding Holy **** Part 2

17 Jun

You can read part 1 of our breastfeeding journey here

After we visited our pediatrican on Day 3 of baby boy’s arrival to this world we went straight to a Public Health drop in clinic to see a lactation consultant. She looked at baby boy latching, and saw that he was having alot of difficulty with the one breast. She suggested different holds, tried to manipulate my breast so he could latch and still had no success. She then brought out a nipple shield and had him latch on.  My precious son finally was able to latch on and started to feed.  We felt that he was feeding well, the lactation consultant (lc) told us to come back again and would see how he was progressing.

We went back to the Dr’s two days later and he was still not gaining as much weight as they would of hoped. The Dr again suggested that we supplement but the LC had said that he was breastfeeding fine and it would just take some more time to gain more successfully.

At our 3rd Dr’s appointment we realized that he had not gained any weight within a week period. We knew right then and there that this was serious and that we needed to fix the issue.   That night our baby was not able to get enough milk from me, my breasts felt empty and he was starving. I made a bottle for him of 4 ounces and the tears streamed down my face as this formula poured down his throat.  Watching him with the bottle, not having to really work for the formula as it just dripped out into his mouth, broke my heart. It was a struggle of wanting to feed him, worrying that we would never be able to get back to the breast after introducing this bottle and the dream of wanting to feed my baby the best food available to him….my breastmilk.  On the flip side I just wanted to feed and nourish my child.

The next morning we called the best LC in Ottawa, I left a message and she called back within an hour with an appointment available for that afternoon. She gave strict instructions to not feed him for at least 2 hours before we arrived.  She had asked us to arrive with my breastpump, our formula and a hungry baby!

I was very nervous as I wanted this to be a positive experience and wanted to be able to breastfeed my baby boy.  She showed me how to start our feed, how to latch him on and within minutes he was eating, eating and eating!!!! It was such a positive experience. He was weighed before the feed and after each breast so we could determine how much he was getting from each breast.  My milk supply had greatly decreased since he had yet to have a successfin the past week.  We left with a plan of how to successfully breasfteed him, then we supplemented with 30ml of formula and then I would pump for 20 minutes.

It was a long procedure, especially for our nighttime feedings, but I fed, supplemented and pumped around the clock. It was a great challenge to plan to go anywhere with all of our equipment in tow, and to find a private place to then pump after feeding but we did it.

Thank you to all the people out there who offered continuous support. Your personal journey stories helped me continue to climb the mountains I had started to climb a few weeks earlier.  Power to the breastfeeding mama’s!

More to come soon on our breastfeeding journey…..

3 Responses to “Breastfeeding Holy **** Part 2”

  1. Vicky June 18, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    Thank you for sharing your story. I had a similar experience introducing formula when my son was a few days old. I cried too, and feared that I had ruined every chance to breastfeed him by confusing him with the bottle. I wish a nurse or LC had told me that I would still be able to breastfeed, even if I was supplementing. It would have calmed me and reassured me that a bottle didn’t mean the end of my ability to breastfeed. I’m glad you got some help and support. It does get easier too. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Breastfeeding aka Holy **** Part 3 « Namaste Mommy - June 23, 2010

    […] Breastfeeding aka Holy **** Part 3 June 18, 2010 Filed under: Breastfeeding,Motherhood — namastemommy @ 6:03 am This is a continuation, and the last part, of our breastfeeding journey (well, really mountains climbed) to date. You can read part 1 here and part 2 here. […]

  2. Precious Memories Captured « Namaste Mommy - February 17, 2011

    […] pump and feeding every 2-3 hours the first 6 weeks.  You can read that uphill mountain climb here, here and oh ya….here too! After all the hard work and dedication I put into getting this wonderful […]

Leave a Reply

