Breastfeeding aka Holy **** Part 3

18 Jun

This is a continuation, and the last part, of our breastfeeding journey (well, really mountains climbed) to date. You can read part 1 here and part 2 here.

We continued the week after we had seen the lactation consultant (lc) to breastfeed, supplement with anything I had previously pumped and formula, and then pumping again. The lc had said that if my milk had not come in within the following week with enough supply to meet babes demand that I was to get a prescription of domperidone from the doctor. So as the end of the week approached I made an appointment with my family doctor.

She immediately prescribed me domperidone and I went to fill the prescription at the pharmacy.  I was to take 3 pills of 10mg each 3 times per day.  I noticed when the pharmacist filled the prescription that he had put 1 pill 3x day, 10mg each.  I immediately called as I knew this was not going to help with my milk production (thanks Dr Jack Newman for your fantastic informative books & website!).  I wasn’t sure if it was the doctor or pharmacist who had misread the prescription.  I called the pharmacy and they were the ones who had made the mistake.  He filled the rest of the prescription and Adam picked it up.

Within a week of starting the domperidone, continuing with the fenugreek pills & tea (I smell like maple syrup constantly, my clothes, my sweat, etc.) and pumping my milk supply was more than efficient enough to fill the little guys tummy! 

I am so happy that we are no longer taking formula to supplement and I am able to slowly decrease my domperidone. I have yet to decrease yet as I am hesitant but will start slowly and see what happens, starting with just one pill at a time.

I am still pumping twice a day (or trying, definitely have missed a few here and there) just to get some milk stored for future use.

With determination and support we finally got there….we are exclusively breastfeeding! Had no idea the journey we would have to get here a few months ago!

What was your breastfeeding journey like? Did you have low milk supply? too much milk? how long did you breastfeed for? did you choose not to breastfeed for various reasons?

4 Responses to “Breastfeeding aka Holy **** Part 3”

  1. Vicky June 24, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    This is great news! You must be so happy to be exclusively breastfeeding! I’m glad you asked about other breastfeeding journeys. I think it’s important for moms to be to read about struggles (and triumphs!) with breastfeeding to know that it’s not as easy and natural as it’s made out to be. But, that being said, it can be done even if it’s not easy!

    When my son was born 3 1/2 years ago, we had a very tough time breastfeeding. His latch was excruciating, and I didn’t find I got the help I needed in the hospital. One nurse insisted that he have formula, and I sat back and watched, crying, as she fed him a bottle in the middle of the night. Three doctors looked at him and thought he was tongue tied, but decided it wasn’t severe enough to clip his tongue. I was sent home feeling discouraged, but very much wanting to breastfeed. That first night at home (I call it the black night) was horrible. My son would nurse for a minute then fall asleep immediately. I had to wash him down with cold face cloths to keep him awake. I ended up pumping for hours only to get 2 ounces of milk (which wasn’t even in yet!) Eventually I found a LC, rented a double electric pump, and started to get things going. Nursing was excruciating. I *never* had a pain free nursing session with my son. Not once. I nursed him for 3 months through 2 bouts of mastitis, constant thrush, and milk blisters, largely due to his tongue tie. The pain never went away. I was stubborn and persevered, but after 3 months I had to stop, I couldn’t handle the pain any longer and I was getting anxiety attacks just thinking about the next feed. I was devastated that I couldn’t keep going, but relieved at the same time no longer to be in such pain.

    Fast forward to a year ago when my daughter was born. I mentioned my previous experience to a nurse in the hospital who immediately found a pediatrician to look at her tongue. He clipped it right at the hospital, and we had such a different experience nursing! I nursed her for a full year before she weaned, and enjoyed every minute of it. I commemorated our nursing relationship by having some professional photos of us nursing together. My first experience with my son prepared me for what nursing could be like, and I made sure to get the help I needed early on.

  2. refashionista July 4, 2010 at 2:25 am #

    I’m so happy to hear things are going well for you. 🙂 Really!

    I have over-supply issues and a forceful let-down that feels like stabby knives. It was the worst with my oldest boy as he had a very short upper lip that couldn’t properly flange out when nursing. Every sessions for the first month or so had him clamping down hard with those little gums — the first couple weeks involved a lot of tears, some plugged ducts, and bloody nipples. Good times. 😉 I often say I persevered out of sheer stubbornness and nothing else. My over supply created a lot of gas/spit-up issues and pretty fast weight gain.

    I was still nursing him (then 20mos) when my middle boy was born. I’ve gotta say that having a nursing toddler around those first few weeks after one’s milk comes in is actually pretty useful. 😉 No unbearable engorgement, no plugged ducts. The over supply and let-down issues were still there, but I learned some techniques to help lessen the severity. I encouraged my oldest to wean around 27mos, as I was having trouble keeping my weight up and he was showing some sibling rivalry problems pertaining to nursing. He was ready to be done and I was ready for him to be done. I nursed my middle son for the last time around age 4 — the last 6-7 mos he might have nursed once every couple of weeks. It felt right to nurse him that long and it also felt right when we were done.

    With this little guy, I employed those techniques I learned the last time early on. They really help and I only have issues when I get lazy/sloppy and don’t follow them. We nurse on cue but the let-down/supply issues (still present) are much easier to deal with. He’s the least chunky of my boys and I can’t help but wonder how it relates to the over-supply management. I’ll nurse him until he self-weans –probably around the same age as my middle son.

    I really treasure(d) these quiet moments nursing my boys. They may not remember it when they’ve grown but I will. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Posh ‘n’ Plush Nursing Pillow « Namaste Mommy - August 28, 2010

    […] boy as we spend hours upon hours each day breastfeeding.  I am just happy that we are finally breastfeeding successfully after many little hills along the way.   My little man will nurse all day everyday so […]

  2. Precious Memories Captured « Namaste Mommy - February 17, 2011

    […] 2-3 hours the first 6 weeks.  You can read that uphill mountain climb here, here and oh ya….here too! After all the hard work and dedication I put into getting this wonderful breastfeeding journey to […]

Leave a Reply

