First Road Trip…..oh my!

27 Jun

We loaded the car up Friday morning and left for our first road trip. What did we discover? We need a way bigger vehicle!!!!

I made a list of what we needed to bring a few days before (okay I’ll be honest….I made the list weeks ago!) and I thought I really had it down to the bare necessities. Cloth diapers, enough baby clothes for 3 days and then we would do laundry, few blankets, minimum clothes for Adam & me and our slings and wraps. Oh yea, and the co-sleeper bed, boppy pillow and stroller. We haven’t used the stroller that much, even though it’s a gorgeous bugaboo frog, as we babywear more. I will say the stroller is great to bring places if babe will sleep a long time (like the wedding we went to) and if we need to take a lot of stuff somewhere and don’t want to carry it 😉

We were packed by Thursday night and Adam started to pack up the car. It very quickly stared to fill and we have a Sonata, a decent size car! Before we knew it the trunk was full (daddy brought his golf clubs too…..”just in case”), the front seat and the back all around the babe and me. Their was a small space carved out for my bottom and a teeny amount of wiggle room.

My first thought was “what the heck will we do when baby number 2 arrives?!” Now don’t get any thoughts as we are not working on number 2, just thinking of future. We will be getting a second car eventually and was going to get another of similar size to the one we currently own but are now not sure if it’s big enough!

So we took off to the Eastern Townships with a stop in Montreal with a full car, lots of love and mommy was thinking crap I really didn’t want a mini van!!  I am not sure why I have always been hesitant to want one. Maybe because I have never seen it as the “hip” mom vehicle. Well, the time has possily come that I will just need to make it feel hip, suck it up and buy one!

What is your family vehicle and how big is your family? How do you find packing for a week long trip with your kids? Do you need a vacation after your family vacation to just recover from all the packing and unpacking? 😉

8 Responses to “First Road Trip…..oh my!”

  1. Rebecca June 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Yes. you want a van.

    I have changed the kids, fed the kids, nursed the kids, changed myself, fed myself – all in the van. Now that ds is potty trained, he can use the portable potty – in the van. It gives a place for the kids to stretch out at stops in the winter that is safe (and clean) and provides so much ease.

    I am totally unhip in my van (esp. when I crank Bad Romance and sing really loud thinking I’m cool) but you’d have to pull this van from me right now 😉

    • namastemommy June 27, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

      Oh I think a van is in our future soon 😉 you do make a great point with having room for the kids to move around when needed (and parked obviously lol)

  2. Vicky June 27, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Have you see the Toyota Sienna commercials on Youtube? You’ll definitely be hip in the Swagger Wagon! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ql-N3F1FhW4

    • namastemommy June 28, 2010 at 1:01 am #

      Omg Vicky that video was freaking fantastic. Might of swayed me to get a swagger wagon 😉

  3. Melissa Taylor June 28, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    I’m a swagger wagon fan and driver, too — and so happy the commercials are making me feel slightly less dorky!! 🙂

    Melissa
    http://imaginationsoup.net

    • namastemommy June 29, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      I might have to join the swagger wagon yummy mummies Melissa!! 😉

  4. Crystal June 28, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    DOWN WITH VANS!!!!

    LOL!!! I”m hoping to avoid it at all costs. Even with the home day care and needing a 7 passenger vehicle. If you’re after a 7 pass. then start looking at crossovers, but I don’t think you guys need to make that leap quite yet!!
    You should look at the Santa Fe, best safety ratings then any other mid-size SUV. Plus you could have 3 kids in the back and still have plenty of “trunk” space.

    • namastemommy June 29, 2010 at 12:35 am #

      We are so undecided! Whatever it is most likely will be a used car with lots of mileage left on it still as we already have a good car and need another that will work well and get me from point A to B with lots of room! No, don’t need the 7 passenger yet, but maybe someday 😉 I have always loved the mazda 5 so we will see!

Leave a Reply

