How Do You Sleep?

5 Jul

Baby Boy will be 8 weeks this Friday and has been an absolutely joy to have in our life. He is so cuddly and kissable that I like to spend my days all day attached to him. I am a fan of babywearing and am quite often seen with Dom in a sling or wrap of some kind.  I enjoy co-sleeping and being close to my baby boy. We had originally purchased a cradle but quickly switched to co-sleeping with a neat little bed for babe.  Lately he has been sleeping right beside me in the bed more often than in his own little co-sleeper

However, we have a slight problem as he will only nurse to sleep when he is with me and quite often wakes up or goes into a light sleep and quickly starts rooting for the breast. He likes to use me as a human pacifer. The first few weeks it was sweet, it was great to connect with him, and we had great bonding. The problem now is that he will only go back to sleep with me if he is nursed.  I would love for him to be able to start to slowly comfort himself. Possibly with me nursing and cuddling him, then allowing him to fall aslseep beside me on his own.  Am I dreaming? Will this ever happen?

We swaddle our little man up, and somehow our Houdini usually figures out how to at least get a little hand out of the blanket. He hates the various swaddle cocoons we have tried, including the Kiddopotamus one. We have yet to try the Miracle Blanket, but I am not sure if  I am willing to pay the $50 for something he possible will not like, or will grow out of shortly anyways. 

I like co-sleeping and the idea of a family bed for a while longer, but I am worried that babe will not be able to ever self soothe when he needs to fall asleep or wake up. The mom in me wants to run to babe whenever he whimpers and the nanny (which I did for so many years!) in me wants to eventually be able to create a routine and have a baby that is comfortable falling asleep on his own and not having to be nursed or put into a wrap when its nap time.

How do your kids fall asleep now and what were your routines if any when they were infants? Did you have any sleep issues and how have you overcome them if you have? Help a mama out and share your tips and tricks with others 🙂

p.s speaking of wraps and carriers we have a great review and giveaway coming up with the Cuddly Wrap and some other products from Peapod Creations. Make sure you subscribe to this blog to not miss out!

8 Responses to “How Do You Sleep?”

  1. sharon July 5, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    I swear by swaddling – swaddling saved my sanity and both of my kids both HATED it when I first started swaddling. I kid you not, I swaddled Son No. 1 until he was six months old. That was a fun blanket to find. Son No. 2 screamed when we swaddled him but it also helped him sleep. I found having a blanket with velcro to keep it closed helped.

    The other thing that helped with Son No. 2, who came out screaming and didn’t stop for about a year, was an exercise ball. I would sit on the ball and bounce up and down – for some reason, that motion, more than anything else, would calm him and help him sleep.

    • namastemommy July 8, 2010 at 3:28 am #

      Omg what did you use for a 6 month old?! I am sure we will have to use a single bed sheet lol. He stops crying the moment we swaddle him but can get out of it when determined no matter what way we swaddle or how tight!

      Wow you are a strong mama to have a screamer for that long and have an older son you would have to still be alert for morning to night with no breaks! Will have to break that exercise ball back out. I thought I was done with it after I bounced on it non stop for 3 weeks to get this 9lb 5oz baby out 😉

  2. Rebecca July 5, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    Honestly? And this may make you feel better:

    The 17 month old still nurses to sleep when I put her down. She also still wakes at night and nurses back to sleep (which I will likely stop soon but…).

    The 3.5 year old still cuddles to sleep and calls for us usually at least once in the night to cuddle back to sleep.

    There are times when it’s maddening, and dh and I are on split co-sleeping arrangements just to ensure we all get the most sleep.

    But now, as I look at my son who is on the brink of not needing us to sleep/cuddle etc. I can’t imagine a few years from now when it’s over. Ditto for baby girl.

    Do what works best for you guys. I had the luxury of not having to get up and out the door for work in the morning, so on tough nights we just take it easy etc. It’s my choice not to try to get them to sleep any other way, I’m trading it for the fact that they do and are fairly routined.

    My kids were both swaddlers for many many months and the babe slept through the night for the first few months even!

    Good luck and get some sleep 😉

    • susie ;) July 6, 2010 at 12:01 am #

      I always nursed the kids to sleep, it if it works, why not? We co-slept, so I would prop baby on their side up against a sideways pillow, and nurse lying down (sort of the same position as if they were in-arms). When baby fell asleep, I’d sneak out of the bed, and put down another pillow to replace my body, and to ensure baby didn’t roll out of bed (baby was always in the middle of a King size bed, and we kept a monitor right by the baby’s head so we could hear any movement).

      When baby got too squirmy to be left alone in the bed, I’d nurse them to sleep in the rocking chair, but I got into the habit of putting the baby on my shoulder after they nursed, but before she fell asleep, then I’d transfer her into the crib. Sometimes, I’d keep a hand on them for a bit to reassure them, and then I’d creep out of the room.

      Sure, we had some crying nights, and every baby is different, but if nursing to sleep works….

      • namastemommy July 7, 2010 at 2:02 am #

        I am Dom’s human pacifier 😉 he took a soother 2 or 3 times successfully and not again since. I am trying to get him to nap a little more independently but will cherish this time we have together! They grow quickly! I am going to try your pillow technique tomorrow and see if I can trick him 😉

      • susie ;) July 7, 2010 at 2:46 am #

        I should add if I heard the baby start to squawk, I’d run upstairs and stick my boob in her mouth to settle her, I didn’t have to disturb her by picking her up, and I could usually sneak out pretty quickly…

        susie 😉

      • namastemommy July 7, 2010 at 11:02 am #

        DH came in once and I was squatting over babes little co sleeper bed doing the same thing. He had no idea what I was doing lol

    • namastemommy July 8, 2010 at 3:24 am #

      Yes it sooo makes me feel better 🙂 the mother in me has officially over ruled the nanny in me. Well, for now anyways. If we run into major sleep issues like some of the kids I was brought in to help then I may need to re-think the situation. But right now he belongs snuggled with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

