Fall Programs

15 Oct

Well Fall is upon us and everyone is back into the swing of things at school.  With the new school year brings many choices in programs for children of all ages.  I have taught many children’s activities and programs in the past as a lifeguard, swim instructor, day camp coordinator, nanny and yoga instructor.  But now its my turn to be a participant with my sweet baby boy.   Wow, the variety of programming available, days, times and what facility to take it at can be quite overwhelming if you live in a large City.  Then comes the scheduling of  making the activities work around my current work schedule, my lovely husbands work schedule, naps (which are non-existent and happen when they happen for our little man!), meals and traffic.

I believe in learning through play and strongly believe that children can learn tremendous amounts of information while being at home in a supportive and nurturing environment. I also believe its important to socialize children and allow them to participate in activities that may interest them.  Let me be honest though, since my child is 4 months old, these programs are mostly for me!!  I know every nursery rhyme under the sky and have been knowing to break into baby songs while dancing around the living room so I certainly did not sign up for baby music classes so I can learn and teach him at home.  I signed up so I can get out of the house! So I can socialize with other parents in a warm and fun atmosphere  who are in a similar situation as myself.

We are currently taking swim lessons, baby signing and will start music in another month.  We also participate in a weekly playgroup with Kids in the Capital as much as possible and get together with other breastfeeding mothers at a drop in group another day of the week.  So we are busy. My husband jokes that he needs a calendar to keep track of where we are going and when.  But to be honest I am completely happy and enjoy being able to get up in the morning and participate in an activity with my child and other parents.  It keeps my sanity at times, coffee always in hand, and I love every moment of the time I can spend at these activities with my child and others.

So what activities have you participated in with your children when they were babies? What activities do they participate in now and how to parents of more than one children schedule their work, kids activities and still find time for family time? Would love to hear what you have to share!

One Response to “Fall Programs”

  1. Somekindofmom October 17, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Lara and I both signed up for Hush-a-bye babies, and it was a fantastic experience. It was a singing class for moms and babes, and I still sing some of the songs I learned a year later! There was a review written on the Kids in the Capital blog, if you were interested.

Leave a Reply

