Flights,Strollers, Car Seats, Bags and Baby…..Oh My!

28 Oct

Baby D took his first plane right last Wednesday to Toronto for the She’s Connected conference.  I hesitated for a day or two as to whether I would take him with me as I knew it would be a long day for him, leaving 6a.m. in the morning and not back until 8p.m. at night.  Plus I would have to bring the stroller, car seat for in the taxi, the attachment for the car seat to hook into the Bugaboo base, his diaper bag and anything I would need for the day.  My first concern was how the heck will I fit enough cloth diapers in a diaper bag plus everything else to take for the day? I wasn’t concerned how he would act on the plane, my concern was cloth diapers….go figure!  My husband convinced me that maybe we should take disposables for the day.  Did I really want to contribute to more Toronto’s landfills while I was there for the day? Sigh, so disposables it was once I realized how many diapers I would actually need to take for over 14 hours.

I got up at 3:30 in the morning to get myself ready and thought I would wake the babe up around 4:15 to leave the house and be at the airport for 5:15a.m. Ha, should have known better. Since my child does not sleep he was up and ready at 3:30!  The car was packed the night before, with my husband a little frustrated that I decided to pack the car at 8p.m. at night and only then realized that the stroller wheels needed more air.  Off to the garage he went to get it pumped up.

Baby D fell asleep in the car on the way to the airport and I kept my fingers crossed that he would continue sleeping as long as possible.

He is sooo not asleep!

I parked the car (or what my husband would call a van…its a Mazda 5) and loaded up everything we would need. I tried to pack very lightly (one bag for me, one for babe) as I knew we would be bringing some extra stuff home.  We checked in and were able to get two seats so somebody travelling for business into Toronto City would not have to sit next to us 🙂

Security was fun (read: NOT!) as I had to empty everything out to go through the scanner, plus take apart the stroller for inspection.  Really……do you think I am going to hide something suspicious in my child’s stroller or car seat that could harm him?!  The people going through security after us were not too pleased with the amount of time it took me to get everything repacked the way it was.  It took a while.

The staff at Porter Airlines are absolutely amazing and I continue to use their airline each time I need to fly into Toronto.  They checked in with me via twitter to see how I was doing, the staff at the airport where charming and everybody was very helpful in holding the baby while I took apart the stroller at the gate, got us seated and ensured we were comfortable and made the flight a pleasant experience.  What wasn’t a pleasant experience was that my child decided to shit just as we were taking off and it came all out the back of his diaper.  There was no way I was going to try to change that stink bomb in a small airplane bathroom!  I stuck another diaper down the back of his pants and over the outside so I didn’t get covered in the stink.  Oh come on, it’s not neglect, like you have never left your child in poop for an hour!  He was quite happy on the plane, diaper full or not 🙂

Taking the subway to Shes Connected was an experience and I am thankful that I do not have to lug a stroller, baby and two bags on the subway every day for a commute!  We arrived at the conference, with Starbucks in hand (okay well I did, Baby D had Sophie the Giraffe in hand) and got settled in for the day.  There will be an upcoming post on the conference its self.

The flight on the way home was pretty uneventful as well.  The ferry ride to the island was a totally different story. Picture a ferry jammed pack of business people all wanting to get home after a long days work and commute.  Then picture me with a screaming baby who is strapped into a stroller with bags galore all hanging off the stroller, me sweating from carrying everything and praying that I get home in one piece.  Needless to say I was getting the stink eye from people who I know were all wondering whether they would be stuck on a plane with  me and babe on the way home.  Baby D screamed the whole ferry ride and luckily calmed down a little when I picked him up after we checked in. 

I had to check a few bags on the way home and quickly scanned my bag to take out any liquids before security.  Because we received swag from various brands and I hadn’t had a chance to look through it all I wasn’t really sure what was in all the bags.  Peanut butter & salad dressing was confiscated when my bags were searched.  However, I ended up somehow travelling home with my Maple Leaf cutting board and kitchen knife in my carry on bags.  Ummm hello security at Toronto City Airport? You located peanut butter but didn’t even notice that there was a knife in my bag?  Really? I was shocked that we flew home with it when I unpacked the next day.

Other than babe liking to bounce and try to spill my wine while on the plane we had a great first plane trip.  Next one? Orlando in March! Daddy is coming on this one though.

2 Responses to “Flights,Strollers, Car Seats, Bags and Baby…..Oh My!”

  1. poppacoach October 28, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    I think that is the best story i have ever read. Cannot wait until Dom and I can do something together one day! Cherish the memories. What an adventure you had!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Laowang Loves The Kids ||老王 » Blog Archive » Flights,Strollers, Car Seats, Bags and Baby…..Oh My! « Namaste Mommy - October 30, 2010

    […] link: Flights,Strollers, Car Seats, Bags and Baby…..Oh My! « Namaste Mommy 原创文章,转载请注明: 转载自Laowang Loves The Kids […]

Leave a Reply

