Tommee Tippee

3 Nov

So before I even start this post I will say that this post is not about how breastfeeding or formula may be better than the other and you are wrong if you do one over the other! My husband and I chose to breastfeed for a variety of reasons and even with all the mountains we had to climb we stuck with it.

I have started going back to work to teach a few yoga classes and there are times when my baby boy is given a bottle of breastmilk I have pumped for him.

My concern early on was nipple confusion and therefore we did not introduce just any bottle or any pacifiers. When we had to supplement we used a bottle from a company that allowed my son to feed with much imitation as the breast as possible. The milk would not flow unless his lips were flanged and he worked the milk out with his jaw. I didn’t like the fact that he had a bottle but it did comfort me to know that he was getting as close to the breast as was possible with a bottle. Well this bottle has seen it’s day and we needed to retire it for another.

Thankfully Tommee Tippee offered to send us their Closer to Nature line of bottles. At first I was skeptical. Would it really live up to its imitation of the breast as much as a bottle possibly could? I filled it up with water and played with it a little and you did really have to “work” the nipple to get a lot of the liquid.

So I left the house the first day we had the bottles not knowing what would happen or how baby boy would like it. My husband happily reported back that the moment the bottle went into babes mouth his lips flanged, he opened big and worked that milk out in a similar manner he would have to the breast. We have been happy with these bottles ever since! They definitely live up to their name and we are going to continue to use these bottles whenever babe needs fed and I am not around.

Various flow levels for the nipples are available and Tommee Tippee are sold at all Babies R Us stores. Because of their unique valve your baby can feed leak free and the ultra sensitive valve prevents air ingestion preventing gas and colic. Of course this bottle is also BPA and phalate free, a point many parents now look for as a minimum standard for their family.

Baby boy has now moved past the slow flow nipple and we will be going out to get him the next level.

So if you are in the market for a bottle whether you are supplementing with pumped breastmilk or formula I recommend you try out Tommee Tippee. Having worked as a nanny for many years I have used many different kinds of bottles, varying in brands, shapes and sizes. So even though I breastfeed my son I know my bottles and for my lovely husband to say that he liked it too then I know it’s a great product.

Do you, or did you, bottle feed your child? What were the deciding factors when choosing a bottle for your child?

3 Responses to “Tommee Tippee”

  1. Shannon November 5, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    What a coincidence, reading this. I just RETURNED a sippy cup made by them that was “truly spill proof”. Ha! Not at all. It leaked all over my floor, my car. Boo! Hopefully their bottles are better!

    • namastemommy November 5, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      Hi Shannon. That’s too bad!! Have not tried their sippy cups as Dom is too small but will keep that in mind when shopping for one! Did you give them feedback? If want contact info let me know 😉

  2. Josee November 10, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    Back, 4 years ago, my mother went on a trip to New Zealand. I was pregnant at the time and, given the fact that I had had a breast reduction surgery 7 years earlier, she decided to grab a couple of bottles she had come across in a baby store there. They were touted as the closest thing to breastfeeding and were supposedly the most popular thing in both New Zealand and Brittan. Those, were Tommee Tippee’s Closer to Nature bottles! We had the HARDEST time getting more of them once we chose to bottle feed after having SUCH difficulty with BF. BUT, we bought via ebay and LOVED them! I was so very excited when I saw they would FINALLY be offered in the States and Canada!

Leave a Reply

