I’m Reaching Out

20 Nov

I did something today that I wouldn’t normally do.  I needed to do it for me. Why? Because I have been thinking lately of people I have enjoyed having around me.  I reached out to somebody who was in my life for a few years and then kind of disappeared.  This person was nice to have around and I always got along with them.  We weren’t best friends but she did get to know myself and family pretty well.  Then something happened and we went separate ways. Not necessarily by choice but because two people made an adult decision and I wish them both the best.  There was a break up. Those can be sticky and I have no idea what exactly happened, nor do I really have a need to know.  Let me just call this person “gal” just for the heck of it.  “Gal” was there for my engagement (she actually gave my husband the idea of how he would purpose), was at my bridal shower, baby shower and was eager for the birth of Dom.  She never met him and I thought often of how she used to talk in excitement and she never got to see him.  I wanted that. Sometimes when walking near her work with him I wondered if she was there.  I finally said this is silly just reach out to her to see if she would like to go for coffee and she can decide if she would like to or would rather not.  So I did. I reached out and she eagerily responded to my reach out. We are going for coffee!

Ever thought of somebody in your past and wondered what could have happened if you would have reached out? Listen to your thoughts, you have the power to bring them to life.

2 Responses to “I’m Reaching Out”

  1. anonymous November 20, 2010 at 3:39 am #

    Glad to hear that you reached out to her Amanda and that she will get to meet your little boy.
    Ann

  2. Vicky November 22, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I think you did a great thing Amanda. I’ve too often been on the other side wanting to be reached out to.

Leave a Reply

