Things We Like – Hush a Bye Babies

6 Jan

The babe and I have been participating in a stellar program that we had to share with you!  Hush a Bye Babies, directed by the wonderful Alice Davidson, programs are offered across the City of Ottawa. These programs fill fast! So fast that when I called to register for Fall 2010 they were already full so I immediately registered for the Nov-Dec session and Jan-Feb 2011. 

With a class packed with 20 wonderful parents and their babes we arrived for the 90 minute class.  I have never attended a class (except for the kids classes I teach, yes, shameless promotion!) where the babies are so attentive throughout.

We immediately begin with songs and rhymes, repeating each a few times so the parents learn the rhythm, words, etc. To my amazement they are songs and rhymes that I have never heard before, therefore adding to my repertoire of songs we already do together.  Alice joyfully leads us through songs for bouncing, dancing, laying down and more!  Mid way through the class we stop for a snack that Alice provides for all, usually a yummy treat and fresh fruit, and moms get to chat and meet new moms.

My little guy loves this class so much I am going to go ahead and sign up for the spring session very soon.  He bounces, laughs, babbles and his arms and legs move non stop throughout the 90 minute class.

As a caregiver I have attended hundreds of different playgroups, events and outings. This class gets 2 thumbs up from both baby boy and myself!

Check out the Hush a Bye Baby program here!

4 Responses to “Things We Like – Hush a Bye Babies”

  1. Alicia January 6, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Sounds like a great class. I wish there were more classes like scheduled on the weekends for toddlers 😦

    • namastemommy January 10, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Alicia, its a wonderful class! You should contact Alice to let you know you are interested in additional classes!

  2. Somekindofmom January 23, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    Mieka and I took Alice’s class a year ago. I loved it, and looked forward to it every week. I still sing the lala song, and bye-oh-baby, and ‘i like to ride my horse’ and so many others! Alice is such a gem isn’t she! (And makes really great treats too!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Things We Like – Hush a Bye Babies « Namaste Mommy -- Topsy.com - January 10, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rebecca S. Rebecca S said: RT @AmandaDeGrace: Things we like- Hush a Bye Baby program #Ottawa #activities #children http://ow.ly/3ASlg […]

Leave a Reply

