And the Bad Mom Award Goes To….

15 Feb

Baby boy got a beautiful wooden sleigh from his Nanny & Poppy (his great grandparents) for Christmas with a gorgeous plaid blanket.  We had yet to take it out for a ride as its been sooooo freaking cold in Ottawa this winter whenever we had an opportunity to go.  Usually he is snuggled up against me in a carrier or protected under the strollers wind/rain cover warm inside his sleeping bag.

The weather was cooperating with us and we decided to use the sleigh to run a few errands in the neighborhood.  Daddy decided he wanted to pull babe on the sleigh.  We usually take a short cut to the bank and butchers, which involves using a path that is not taken care of in the winter.  One of us carried babe down the path and the other carried the sleigh on the way to the errands. On the way home it was my turn to pull the sleigh.  I decided that we could slowly pull the sleigh through the path on the way home. As I approached the snow bank at the end I continued to pull the sleigh, carefully manipulating it.  I was thisclose to getting the sleigh back onto the street and WHAM the whole freaking sleigh tipped over. Yep, I face planted my child on the street.  He was in the star position as we had shoved him in his snowsuit with so many layers.  I quickly picked him up, wiped the gravel off his face and kissed his teary face.  I went to put him back in the sleigh and he immediately rejected. No shit. Would you want to go back in a sleigh that just catipulated you? Hubby had a few words to share with me, but all were probably well deserved.  Babe finally got back in the sleigh and he happily enjoyed the rest of his ride home.  I haven’t took the sleigh out since!

Okay, come on, spill…….have you won a bad mom award?!

4 Responses to “And the Bad Mom Award Goes To….”

  1. Pamela Pilon February 15, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I locked my baby in the car – had to stand outside in -30c weather waiting for a tow truck for over 40 minutes – thank god the car was running and she was asleep. I was so upset with myself.

  2. Lori February 15, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    Hey Amanda, I locked you in my car. Dave wasn’t born yet so you would have been a toddler. You were sitting in the front seat with my keys in your hand.

  3. namastemommy February 15, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Pamela- eek I would have been a little freaked too! Thats cold weather but as you said thankfully the car was turned on! As you see my aunt just commented I was locked in the car too and turned out okay I think 😉

    Lori- I am waiting for the day I do that too!

  4. Jen February 15, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I wouldn’t have given you the bad mom award for that. Not even close. We all make small errors in judgements. Our kids survive them. But, to join the club, when my son was 2 weeks old I fell asleep holding him and dropped him. My older son yelled out MOM YOU DROPPED THE BABY! And he’ll never let me forget it.

    You’re a good mama, don’t sweat it 🙂

Leave a Reply

