Precious Memories Captured

17 Feb

Wow, how fast these little snuggly babes grow. It was only 9 short months ago that we welcomed the most wonderful baby boy into the world. With his dark hair, big blue eyes and strong big hands we were so excited to bring him home. The days went by fast and somehow here we are with his first birthday just 3 short months away.

We take endless photos and video, uploading some on our youtube channel and keeping others to view on our own. However, I always thought about having pictures taken while D & I shared in the special moments while breastfeeding. For those who have been reading since the start of our journey you may remember the challenges we had when we started breastfeeding. We had week after week of hard work, trying to up my milk supply, not leaving the house without a breast pump and feeding every 2-3 hours the first 6 weeks. You can read that uphill mountain climb here, here and oh ya….here too! After all the hard work and dedication I put into getting this wonderful breastfeeding journey to work I wanted to ensure we had the memories captured to look back at in the coming years.

A friend and photographer extraordinaire, Sara McConnell, was looking for breastfeeding mothers who would be willing to have photographs taken for her portfolio and to share with local baby friendly businesses. I immediately volunteered as I knew I could not pass up an opportunity like this and I love helping out a friend when I can! I didn’t even think twice about my breasts being on display. They are here to feed my child, that is their purpose at this point of my life. My breasts nurture and nourish my child and is a bonding experience I would not have changed for the world. If you have not had any pictures taken of you while breastfeeding your child I highly recommend it. Time goes by way too fast and you don’t want to look back in a few years and wish you had.

You can check out some of the photographs here on Sara’s blog. We are the first and sixth photographs. Huge thanks to Sara for inviting us into her studio and perfectly capturing these wonderful memories for us.

You can find more information on Sara McConnell Photography at www.saramcconnell.ca

Sara, from my family to yours THANK YOU!

2 Responses to “Precious Memories Captured”

  1. Sara February 17, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Thank you Amanda!! After everything you went through to breastfeed Dom I’m so glad you have photos of the two of you together nursing. They are beautiful memories and I was honoured to be a part of them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Precious Memories Captured « Namaste Mommy -- Topsy.com - February 17, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Julia and Amanda DeGrace, saramphoto. saramphoto said: a perspective from the other side of my camera, from @amandadegrace http://ow.ly/3YcRG […]

Leave a Reply

