Daycare Dilemma

19 Feb

We decided to start calling around this week and put baby boy on a waiting list for subsidized Quebec Daycare.  At $7 per day the price is a steal in my opinion for what is still quality regulated daycare.  However, the word on the block is to not ever expect to get a spot at this price.

We have a lovely nanny who currently watches baby boy when I need to teach during the week. Other times the husband is home to watch him while I work in the evening.  The plan has always been that I would stay at home as much as possible to spend quality time with our children while they are young (because it goes by SOOOO fast!) and would continue to run my business.

Our hope is that by the time baby boy gets a spot (we are assuming in 2-3 years) we will have another child who will also require a spot.  Priority goes to siblings to ensure families are located within the same daycare.

So our search begins with phone call after phone call. There is a central waitlist for Gatineau but not all daycares are affiliated with this list.  Therefore we need to call other subsidized daycare centres separately.  I have decided for sanity purposes that I will begin a spreadsheet to keep track of who we have called and when. Most centres also say to call back in a few months time, either because they are so full they are not taking anymore for the waitlist or because they are unable to specify when they may be taking more children.

I have also heard rumours of people “sucking” up to childcare and daycare centres to get their child bumped up on the priority list. We know one individual who got her child in to subsidized daycare because somebody in their family was dating somebody at the centre.  As a former nanny I know it’s all about the schmoozing, the money and how much your family is loved, along with the political boundaries and line up of people waiting.  I have seen nannies be “poached” right at the playground for higher pay, more benefits, and less kids!  The reality is that this happens more than people may wish to believe.

The difference in daycare costs from Ontario to Quebec is CRAZY! especially for us who live in Gatineau and know many who have daycare in Ottawa closer to their places of work.  I know what I was paid as a nanny in Ottawa and it was a salary that was extremely precious.

We would really like to have D in a childcare centre.  We are not opposed completely to a home daycare but in my past experiences as a childcare provider I saw way too many home daycare providers lose their temper, become fatigued or not put full effort into taking care of the children.  Understandably so when you have nobody to relieve you for a break.  On the flip side of that I have also seen wonderful home daycare providers who I would love to have taking care of our baby boy but I do know they can come hard to find…..because they are always so full!

So what are your daycare dilemmas? Did you want one daycare and ended up going with another because of convenience or availability? Did you end up hiring a nanny because of cost and benefits with either one or more children at home? Anybody currently in Quebec using subsidized daycare? Thoughts? Experience?

**Here is the link for Monthly Advanced Daycare Subsidy Payments through Government of Quebec

 

http://www.revenuquebec.ca/en/sepf/formulaires/tpz/tpz-1029_8_f_a.aspx

9 Responses to “Daycare Dilemma”

  1. Sonya April 26, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Any advice! I was told 4 years today. How do I go about getting a spot for my little one without waiting that long in Gatineau/Cantley region.

    Any advice?!! Please help!

    • namastemommy April 26, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      Hi Sonya,

      I just sent you an email as my comment back was getting so long! I hope my email helps a little. I totally understand what you are going through!!!

      • Sonya April 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

        Hi there,
        Haven’t seen the email yet but am looking forward to your reply.
        Thanks so much for taking the time!
        Sonya

  2. Erin July 16, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    I am on the hunt next week/now and was going to start a spread sheet:). Have you found anyone yet?

    • namastemommy July 21, 2011 at 12:24 am #

      Hi Erin,

      Yes! We found a daycare that came recommended from a friend in Aylmer. A bit of a drive but was really what we were most comfortable with. What I didn’t know when originally searching (as its almost impossible to get a subsidized space!) was that you can find a daycare space at regular price (whatever you may be willing to pay) and the government will subsidize you on a monthly basis (if you fill out the forms online) or at the end of the year when submitting your taxes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The One Product I HAVE To Have For Daycare… | ptpamedia.com - March 22, 2011

    […] I cannot believe he is already 10 months and that, especially after writing about our daycare dilemma, we actually got a childcare spot in Quebec at a highly recommended childcare […]

Leave a Reply

