T-R-O-U-B-L-E

22 Jun

Yep, they say payback can be a bitch and we are holding on tight for this ride!  Babe is not only moving & grooving but he is learning all about exploring his curiosity and starting to get into mischief.

Like when he walks into the kitchen laughing and babbling and then you hear quiet. Real quiet.  You will usually end up with hearing 1 of the following 2 things….

1) He walked over to the cat water and proceeds to stick anything in the bowl and then splash it around. He then likes to take one piece of cat food at a time and place it in their water bowl. The other day he dunked his snack into the cat water and then I sat there leisurely while he ate it.  You might be thinking “eww” but I was thinking “oh it’s quiet and he is sitting still….sigh.”

or you hear….

2) Bang, Clunk! Yep he has opened the cupboard where he knows the dried mango and apricots are and is banging the glass mason jar around.  You know because if you smash it hard enough he knows he may get to have a piece of dried fruit.  Don’t worry I totally don’t let him get fruit that way. Well….except the other day he did break a jar but we threw out all the food within its immediate area!

When I approach him to see what he may be doing he usually responds with some sort of long babble and I have no idea what he is saying.  Well, I think I might have a small understanding. I think he is telling me to pretend I don’t see what he is doing.  Maybe in not so nice words though.

Watch in the video below how he “accidentally” pushes his car towards the cat food. Kind of like “oops how did my car get over here?” When I say his name to get his attention he immediately starts into telling me “I am not doing anything, you just turn around and leave me alone.  You are not supposed to know I am here.”  He even points his finger to tell me to go “over there.”

The fun has just begun at the ripe age of 13 months. Oh, and the tantrums?   That’s a whole other post on its own 😉  He is all about the I want it and I want it now so just give it to me.   Some days my response is “you get what you get & you don’t get upset” but to be honest other days I just give it to him because I want some peace and quiet for a few seconds.  Oh how the times are changing since I was a nanny….the nanny who ran a tight ship.

But Mr. I -know-how-to-get-into-trouble still has his soft sides. The snuggly side.  The little boy who pats your back when you pick him up just like you do to him on so many sleepless nights.  The kisses are wonderful and the smiles are priceless.

One Response to “T-R-O-U-B-L-E”

  1. Tara July 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Hey Amanda – I am just catching up on the posts! I haven’t’ seen you guys since March and oh my goodness I can’t believe how much he has grown! I don’t know if I’d even recognize him! So cute that he is into everything. Happy summer!!

Leave a Reply

