Nightly Dance

3 Aug

Some of our favourite moments together have been in the evening as we snuggle closely in your room and you look at me with your big blue gorgeous eyes as you nurse peacefully and we share in such precious stillness.  I love to play with your hair, usually sticky with sweat because you are always so warm just like your daddy.  Your hair is getting long and I brush it away from your eyes and move it away from your ears so I can see how tiny and soft they are.

You are a nursing pro now…..you can latch anywhere at anytime. I have to be careful when I get dressed with you in the same room now as you run over to latch on. Sometimes catching me off guard!  Seeing your big bright eyes as I am able to nourish you and at times provide nursing solely as comfort is truly magical.

You mostly just nurse at night now before bed and sometimes in the early mornings before we head off for our days adventures.  The days you are not at daycare you will have a few minutes of nursing here and there but you are usually too busy discovering and exploring everything around you.  Your walk has started to turn into a run and you are always discovering something I may not have taken the time to notice.  I love to watch your eyes become heavier and heavier as you nurse to sleep.  Then they rest close as you stop suckling for a moment and then start again to just end up stopping because you have fallen asleep.

I treasure these breastfeeding moments that you and I have together as I know one day you may decide that you have had enough.  Until then I am thankful everyday that I persevered through the initial ups and downs of our breastfeeding journey together because these quiet moments we have just you and me are beyond priceless.

I am so thankful that Sara McConnell, photographer extraordinaire and somebody I also call a friend captured some wonderful photographs of Dominic and I along our breastfeeding journey.  Check them out here

5 Responses to “Nightly Dance”

  1. Sara August 3, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Beautiful! I’m happy I was able to capture the memories for you xox

  2. Arwen August 3, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Amanda, this is a beautiful post. I feel the same way about my nursing relationship with Naomi. We arrived 2 days ago in Mexico City, and trying to find food that Nai will eat and is not allergic to is proving difficult. Thank GOD for nursing!!!!! Lots of love, Arwen

    • namastemommy August 3, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      So glad you arrived safely and hopefully you will find some food for Naomi soon that she can eat and enjoys! Hugs to Grace too! xo

  3. Chantal August 3, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I feel the same way about my D and our nursing experience, which continues and he is 19mo now. Although I admit to being tired of the middle of the night nursing he insists on. But I try to remind myself this time will not last forever 🙂
    Beautiful post Amanda!

    • namastemommy August 9, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      Thanks Chantal. It’s those quiet moments that are truly precious. Totally tiring….but precious 😉

Leave a Reply

