The bar is slowly lowering….

11 Oct

Yep you heard it here first. The bar is slowing lowering. My standards bar that is and I am sure you can hear my husbands sigh of relief miles away!  While I am mostly busy looking for the closet bag or can to get sick into these days (no, I haven’t been drinking…..I am pregnant!) I don’t have the time or the energy to worry about what my house looks like, whether the pile of clothes on the floor are dirty or if they are the clean ones my husband folded for me and I haven’t put away for over a week.  I have no idea whether the peanut butter on the floor is from yesterday’s breakfast or last month’s.

I am a totally different person when I am pregnant and suffer from hyperemesis.  Throw me a pillow, a comfy couch and a bucket and I am good to go.  That inch of dust on the tv stand? What dust? Seriously, when I am pregnant it’s like I turn into a male who doesn’t see any of it or have a care in the world.

Normally when I am ill and the house is a mess I would begin to feel stressed and it would bother me. Maybe it doesn’t bother me now because of the pregnancy hormones, I don’t know. But really I DON’T CARE….and it is great 🙂

We have decided to raise the bar just slightly from where it has landed on the floor over the past 16 weeks. We are outsourcing. I have a new love. My house cleaner. She moves my furniture to clean underneath, I could lick my bathtub when she is finished and no dust to be found anywhere! When she was finished there were things that were found that I can’t remember the last time they were seen.

I tell you that I am onto this whole outsourcing thing and I could really get the hang of it. Now just to find that money tree!

Anything you have learned to let go of over the years, during your pregnancy  or as the kids grow? Maybe you outsource some household tasks, childcare or business activities such as book keeping, virtual assistance or more? I would love to hear about it!

4 Responses to “The bar is slowly lowering….”

  1. Misty October 12, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    I have learned to let go of making beds. My Mom was always a stickler for a made bed when we were growing up. I would argue about it with her every day, as I just didn’t see the point. As a Mom, I now get the point (it looks cleaner, and it’s nice to slip into a made bed at night) BUT I’ve learned to let it go. Along with many other messes and clutter around my house 🙂

  2. Lara October 12, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I fear spending hours de cluttering just to let the house cleaners have room to clean 😉 but I’m getting close to finding engh money on the tree to make it a priority 🙂

    I’m glad you got one. I fear our bar is so low we’re going to need machinery to get it out!

    • namastemommy October 12, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      I am seriously in LOVE with our lady that comes to clean! Best $50/60 spent every other week. I justified it because I was working more (as you are too!!) so yes, I work an hour or so for free every week to pay for the service but it really helps our family in the long run!

  3. Alicia October 13, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Way to outsource! I would love a cleaner..hmm

Leave a Reply

