Long 9 Months but Totally Worth the Wait (and sickness)!

10 Apr

The last year has been a whirlwind for me and my family.  We decided we wanted to expand our family at the end of last June and by the first of July we were expecting our little baby who we would find out a few months later was a sweet little girl.  We knew we were ready to add a  new addition to our family and that Dom would be a wonderful big brother. What I wasn’t ready for was to feel even more nauseous then when I did for Dominic.  The nausea and vomiting hit full force by week 4 and unfortunately continued to get worse until week 26 before it at least started to stabilize a little.  It’s funny how quickly your perspective can change and how “good days” means only getting sick once or twice.

My baby boy quickly realized that mommy wasn’t much fun throughout those months but that I was still more then ready to snuggle and read books at any time.  Daddy became the go to person for all things fun and exciting. Daddy did all the early morning wake ups, late night snuggles, park dates, museum visits, grocery shopping and everything else in between.  My days were filled with just “to get through” with feeling sick, tired and at times emotionally drained.

I feel like I missed out on nine months of Dom’s life.  In that time he seemed to grow from my little baby to my little man.  I missed chasing him around the park, watching him learn and explore at museums and various activities and having the energy to really explore live at his level.  The things he learned as I watched from the sidelines was amazing but I wish I could have been in on the action with him.

However, when I look at the end result of growing Dom a sweet baby sister who we will all be able to love and enjoy her company for a lifetime I know it was more than worth it.

Finally holding sweet Bella in my arms now and watching Dom’s eyes light up the moment they are in the same room together I would feel nauseous for a lifetime to see them together.  The love that is floating around in our home is amazing!

Image

One Response to “Long 9 Months but Totally Worth the Wait (and sickness)!”

  1. Eddie April 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    I think this is the most beautiful picture I have ever seen in all of my life!! WOW!

Leave a Reply

