The Birth of our Bella!!

25 Apr

I really didn’t think this pregnancy was ever going to end.  It definitely went by faster then my first pregnancy did but when you are so sick 40 weeks seems like years and years!  In the last week, with the end in sight, operation “Get Baby Out” started. It started on a Sunday with an almost 3 hour walk downtown.  Well it was more like a waddle but I made it and it was also an accomplishment that I managed to not pee my pants throughout those 3 hours!  When we got home I was exhausted and my braxton hicks definitely started to get a little stronger and more often.  I could feel that the baby was getting lower and was hoping that when I went back to the doctors on that Wednesday that there would be a little bit more progress made.  I was secretly hoping that labour would start that night but unfortunately we cannot just choose when it will happen!

Fast forward to my doctor appointment on Wednesday where I found out I had made a little bit more progress but not a lot more. I requested a stretch and sweep in hopes of encouraging things along as it had worked for going into labour with Dominic.  I went home and began to have contractions that evening.  Contractions were irregular but definitely were not the regular braxton hicks I had been experiencing for weeks.  I went to lay down in hopes of getting some rest with the thought that I would most likely go into labour that night. It was a big surprise when I woke up the next morning and realized that the contractions had stopped and I was indeed still pregnant!

Sweet hubby was already off work as he had a lot of unused vacation to use so decided to stay home again knowing that I was going to go into labour soon.  The day was spent going for small walks and getting rest when I could. That night (Thursday) contractions started again and I quickly brushed them off as I thought my body was going to play “tricks” again with all this pre-labour.  I put Dominic to bed, something I had been doing for the last few weeks, as I knew that before we knew it our family of 3 was going to be a family of 4 and I wanted to ensure Dominic had lots of special mommy time before baby arrived.

Contractions continued but were not consistent. Within an hour they started to space themselves 6 minutes apart and we were thinking that this was the real deal! I didn’t want to jump to any conclusions so we waited a little longer. I soon realized that they were not slowing down and if we wanted to get to the hospital in time we better get moving!

We called Adam’s brother as he was going to take care of Dom and off to the hospital we went.  There we met our dear friend and wonderful doula, Anna Belanger.  Adam parked all of our cars and Anna and I walked up to L&D.  As I approached triage they asked me to have a seat in the waiting area as they were currently full.  A few choice words crossed my mind but I decided to spare these nice nurses of that and I instead told them that I was not waiting and was in full on labour.  They quickly moved another patient out of one of the rooms and brought me in for a quick check.  Once confirmed that I was indeed in labour they then quickly moved me into a room to labour. I believe a few not so nice words slipped out when the nurse who checked me told me I hadn’t really dilated anymore since my dr’s appointment that week.

Anna ran a hot bath and my nurse started my iv.  Into the hot bath I got and spent a good few hours labouring in the dark with Anna providing sips of water and cooling my face with a wash cloth. We sat in the bathroom the two of us quiet and still.  A perfect atmosphere to encourage that baby to drop even more and prepare my body for delivery.  The nurse was absolutely wonderful and would only come in to check on us and the baby once in a while. Keeping the lights dim and voice quiet throughout.  Contractions were coming one on top of the other with little to no breaks. It was definitely intense as things were progressing well.  After a few hours in the tub and only getting out to go to the bathroom, I moved onto the birthing ball and took my famous position by the sink and once again, just like my last labour, proceeded to as hubby would say “try to pull the sink faucet out of the wall.”  In my defence those contractions are wicked waves and you want to hold onto something!

With my water still not broken I requested that it be broken to relieve some of the pressure and to allow my body to begin transition. The doctor was amazing and the entire atmosphere was almost like I had my desired home birth in what hubby finds is the “safety feeling” of the hospital.  My water was broken and the nurse and doctor stood off to the side as I hit transition and then requested that it was time to push. After pushing for a few minutes on all fours the pressure was quite intense and I began to feel that ever popular burning sensation that all women feel. I wanted to turn over and 7 minutes later of what was apparently very efficient and effective pushing baby Bella was here!  The room stayed quiet as I delivered our baby girl and they immediately placed her on my chest where she laid contently.  We celebrated her arrival and I also did a little celebrating of the fact I would not have that ever lasting nauseous feeling again until we have a third!

The “after pains” and the contractions that occurred while delivering the placenta was definitely more intense than it was for my first delivery but this was to be expected.  However the sensations that occur throughout this time are dampened when you have a sweet baby laying on your chest.

Anna cut the cord as we had requested and baby girl latched on immediately for her first breastfeeding experience.  It is so magical to watch a newborn find the breast all on their own and latch on. Watching how they know exactly where to find their food source.

Within an hour we were left quietly to rest with our Bella as hubby quickly fell asleep and I laid quietly snuggled with baby still on a high from such a wonderful birthing experience.

The morning came quick and new big brother Dominic joined us at the hospital to see his sister for the first time.  The look of amazement and curiosity on his face when he met his sister is something we will never forget. He immediately came over to her and wanted to get a closer look at her. Touch her eyes, ears, feet and kiss her.  Even 3 weeks later he still looks at her with the same amazement and always wants to cuddle her.

What an amazing experience it was to have another natural labour and delivery with Bella! Already can’t wait for #3 😉

 

2 Responses to “The Birth of our Bella!!”

  1. twohandsfull April 25, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    That is a beautiful story Amanda! And she is a beauty. I also felt like I had a home birth at hospital with D2 (my 3rd). Such an empowering experience. I am so happy for you guys. And looking forward to hearing about pregnancy #3 🙂

    Hope to run into you soon. It has been a long time. Take Care.

    • namastemommy April 26, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Thanks Chantal! I hope to see you again soon! It makes a huge difference when a women is empowered and supported to have such a peaceful birth in whatever environment she may end up in. I am so glad you had a great experience when D was born too!!

Leave a Reply

